2018 School Holiday Breaks

Tuesday, December 19, 2017

2018 School Holidays Planning Guide for Parents

We have taken a look at the 2018 School Holidays, and have come up with a handy guide to help ourselves, so we thought it would be convenient to share with you the parent.  The guide helps you quickly work out the dates for all the school holidays in Australia on the one page. Let us know if you do find this handy, by leaving a comment below, or if there is any other bits of information which you would like to see. 


Questions we hope we can help answer for planning the family holiday with kids. 

  • How many days in total do the kids have off for the school holidays?
  • How many weekends are there for the school holiday break?
  • How many working days do I need to manage or workaround to fit in with the school holiday periods?
  • How many public holidays fall during the school holiday period when we have the kids? 

 NSW School Holidays 2018

NSW Public School Holidays 2018 

Period First Day Last Day Total Days Weekends Work days Public Holidays
Autumn Sat, 14th April Mon, 30th April 16 3 9 1
Winter Sat, 7 July  Sun, 22 July 15 3 10 0
Spring Sat, 29 Sept Sun, 14 Oct  15 3 9 1
Summer Sat, 22 Dec Tue, 29 Jan 38 6 23  4
VIC School Holidays 2018

Victoria Public School Holidays 2018 

Period First Day Last Day Total Days Weekends Work days Public Holidays
Autumn Fri, 30th March  Sun, 15th April 16 3 9 2
Winter Sat, 30th Jun Sun, 15th July 15 3 10 0
Spring Sat, 22 Sept  Sun, 7 Oct  15 3 9 1
Summer Sat, 22 Dec  Tue, 29 Jan  38 6 23 4
QLD School Holidays 2018

Queensland Public School Holiday Breaks 2018 

Period First Day Last Day Total Days Weekends Work days Public Holidays
Autumn Fri, 30th March  Sun, 15th April 16 3 9 2
Winter Sat, 30th Jun Sun, 15th July 15 3 10 0
Spring Sat, 22 Sept  Sun, 7 Oct  15 3 9 1
Summer Sat, 15 Dec  Tue, 29 Jan  45 7 28 4
ACT School Holidays 2018

ACT Public School Holiday Breaks 2018 

Period First Day Last Day Total Days Weekends Work days Public Holidays
Autumn Sat, 14th April Sun, 29th April 15 3 9 1
Winter Sat, 7 July Sun, 22 July 15 3 10 0
Spring Sat, 29 Sept Sun, 14 Oct 15 3 9 1
Summer Sat, 22 Dec Tue, 03 Feb  43 7 28 4

SA School Holidays 2018

South Australia Public School Holiday Breaks 2018 

Period First Day Last Day Total Days Weekends Work days Public Holidays
Autumn Sat, 14th April Sun, 29th April  15 3 9 1
Winter Sat, 7 July  Sun, 22 July  15 3 10 0
Spring Sat, 29 Sept  Sun, 14 Oct  15 3 9 1
Summer Sat, 15 Dec Tue, 03 Feb  45 7 28 4

NT School Holidays 2018

Northern Territory Public School Holiday Breaks 2018 

Period First Day Last Day Total Days Weekends Work days Public Holidays
Autumn Sat, 7th April  Tue, 17th April 10 2 7 1
Winter Sat, 30 Jun  Sun, 23 July  23 4 20 0
Spring Sat, 29 Sept Sun, 14 Oct  15 3 9 1
Summer Fri, 14 Dec 2018 Tue, 29 Jan  46 7 29 4

TAS School Holidays 2018

Tasmania Public School Holiday Breaks 2018 

Period First Day Last Day Total Days Weekends Work days Public Holidays
Autumn Fri, 13th April  Sun, 29th April 16 3 10 1
Winter Sat, 7 July Sun, 22 July 15 3 10 0
Spring Sat, 29 Sept Sun, 14 Oct 15 3 9 1
Summer Fri, 21 Dec  Tue, 05 Feb 46 7 29 4

WA School Holidays 2018

Western Australia Public School Holiday Breaks 2018 

Period First Day Last Day Total Days Weekends Work days Public Holidays
Autumn Sat, 14th April  Sun, 29th April 15 3 9 1
Winter Sat, 30 Jun Sun, 15 July  15 3 10 0
Spring Sat, 22 Sept  Sun, 7 Oct  15 3 9 1
Summer Fri, 14 Dec  Tue, 05 Feb 46 7 29 4


Fast facts about 2018 school holidays periods.

  • Which State in Australia has the most prolonged school holiday periods? Well, it looks like the Northern Territory, Tasmania and Western Australia are the best states to go to school if you are a kid, as the most extended school holiday break for them is 46 days. If you are a Private School parent in those states, you could expect to receive more holiday days, up to 7 days!
  • Which State has the most school holiday days over 12 months? Well if you live in the Northern Territory you are one lucky kid or not so fortunate parent, with children in this territory has a total of 94 days holidays over the year. That is just over 25% of the year is made up of holidays!
Author

James Hayward

James is the founder of Little Nomads a family-focused​ travel site where he shares his experiences about travelling with kids. You can have a conversation with James on twitter @littlenomads or via his Facebook page.



comments powered by Disqus



Savings for families who love vacations.

Handpicked family travel deals and ideas delivered once a week. 

Bonus Offer

When you subscribe to our newsletter, you will also receive a free handy travel planner , perfect for planning your next getaway. 

 

Handpicked Offers




Follow